4 Comments
Jul 6, 2022Liked by Edwin Leap

As a kid, I too used to enjoy lighting off fireworks in our back yard. They had become more restricted when our kids were young, but they loved being taken to the big July 4th fireworks displays in town. It's true that that most dogs and small children are frightened by the noise made by exploding pyrotechnics., but now it seems that we're living in a time when children are exposed to the pop-pop-pop of assault rifles and bodies mutilated by 5.56 rounds fired deliberately into holiday gatherings. Now that is distressing to kids and adults!

Expand full comment
Jul 6, 2022Liked by Edwin Leap

Mostly naked adults are bothersome for adults! I believe all the things you mentioned are wearing on adults as well as children!

Expand full comment

My girls 11/8/7 are scared of adolescence (will it hurt?) rashes (will I be deformed?) and when our 13 yo westie will die. Now that I think about it, they are fearful of death and dying. The little one woke me up in the middle of the night freaking out that “something is in my eye— will I go blind?” They are scared of holding sparklers but love fireworks.

Expand full comment

Oh that we as a society would care for our children as much as society worries and cares for its animals. Children are daily exposed to more and more issues, sex, and language that should be reserved for at a minimum in high school.

Expand full comment