4 Comments
May 14, 2022Liked by Edwin Leap

Mine was cap pistols. Cowboys and combat soldiers were the heroes of my childhood and the cowboy heroes like Hopalong Cassidy, Roy Rogers, Gene Autry, the Lone Ranger, et al. wore magnificent gun belts and carried Colt 73 single action pistols that were usually polished, engraved and fitted with pearl or ivory grips (to symbolize purity of character, I suppose). The replica toy pistols that I owned shot roles of caps, which produced a "bang" and small puff of smoke...like the real ones. I can recall some of my friends wearing their cowboy outfits to school...gun belts and all. No one ever contemplated taking a real gun to school. For one thing, not many of our dads owned pistols, and if they did, we never had access to them.

Expand full comment

Match Box cars. My brother and I would divide them up, assign gender to them and play outside in a dirt hole with them. We built tunnels and ramps in the dirt. Or maybe my Thumbelina doll. Or maybe Lincoln Logs. Or maybe the Fisher Price car shop. Or my Barbie airplane. Thanks for the nostalgia wave. :)

Expand full comment